Help.

Posted: February 25, 2010 in Random Observations

I’m batting zero here.  I’m working my ass off, at both a full-time job and a part-time job, so much so I hardly ever get a day where I’m not working in some capacity.  Even on a day off, I don’t have a day off.  Even when I think the night is almost over and I can relax, things happen so I’m juggling several things and staying strong for those around me.

I’m going to hit a limit at some point, and it’s not going to be pretty.  I enjoy keeping busy, but when you burn the candle at both ends in every sense, eventually you run out of wax.  And while I love my family dearly, a day at home with them is really not a day off… and, as I already said, I wasn’t really away from working anyway.

I need some time.  I need some true recharge.  I need just a few hours where I have no one – absolutely no one – calling me or pulling on my pants to be picked up or asking me to take over some duties for them or requesting some last-minute job they forgot to bring up or just trying to “pick my brain.”

It’s not going to happen though.  There’s no end in sight.  I’m soon going to be reduced to shutting myself in the bathroom for an extra few minutes here and there just to cry about my plight before I have to head right back out and face yet another person who needs something from me.

Leave a comment